Royal Purple Raceway Fun Ford Weekend Results

April 3, 2013 by  
Filed under Uncategorized

The Roush Yates Performance Products season kick-off at of the Fun Ford Weekend Series at Royal Purple Raceway in Baytown, TX had a very insistent visit from Mother Nature and her rain-making ways. However, as eternal optimists, racers and car show participants still filed into the raceway in hopes of the skies drying up enough for a full day of racing and car show fun.

Unfortunately, as much as the Royal Purple track crew tried to keep the racing surface safe, Mother Nature prevailed. After a morning of dodging light mist and showers, the drag racing action was suspended before eliminations could begin. After waiting to see what the afternoon weather had in store, racers were given rain-checks and invited back to future events at Royal Purple Raceway.

The drippy skies didn’t keep the team from VMP Tuning from running their at-track dyno and tuning services. Thanks to a tent covering the dyno trailer, the guys from VMP stayed the entire day making sure everyone who wanted dyno time or tuning got it.

The grandstands at Royal Purple Raceway did provide cover for a significant number of entries for the all-Ford car and truck show with even more car show entries filing into the event in spite of the threatening skies. The car show judging and awards were completed before the heavier rains set in later in the afternoon. See the car show results below.

Follow this link to see more photos from the event.

With racers dodging rain showers and the car show participants in place, the Revell models “Make ‘N’ Take program was a huge hit with Ford enthusiasts, both young and old. There are now plenty of “new” Mustang owners, thanks to the folks at Revell.

Royal Purple Raceway
Fun Ford Weekend Car Show Results

Class- Mustang 1964-1968
Winner- Stacey Huffman
Runner Up- Billy Ray Standridge

Class- Mustang 1969-1973
Winner- Craig Waltjer

Class- Mustang 1978-1986
Winner- Wynne Sharp
Runner Up-Andy Warwas

Class- Mustang 1987-1993
Winner- Chris Carroll
Runner Up- John Roche

Class- Mustang 1994-1998
Winner- Jeff Wrst

Class- Mustang 1999-2004
Winner- Scott Gillman
Runner Up- Cosy Castillo

Class- Mustang 2005-2009
Winner- Joe Marche
Runner Up- Robert Rooney

Class- Mustang 2010-2011
Winner- Eduardo Rodriguez
Runner Up- Trayton Hill

Class- Competition Sports
Winner- Clifford Paschal

Class- Galaxie, Fairlane, Torino, Flacon
Winner- Lonnie Wright

Class- Hot Rod
Winner- Walter Stokley
Runner Up- Fred Cross

Class- Pre 1989 SUV & Pickup
Winner- Eddie Randazu

Class- 1990-2010 SUV & Pickup
Winner- Terry Parker
Runner Up- Doni Duplessie

Class- Roush, Saleen & Steeda
Winner- Elizabeth Parsons
Runner Up-James Vandezeyden

Class- Shelby
Winner – Cathy McBryde
Runner Up- Joe Morse

Class- SVT 1993-2004
Winner- David Newman
Runner Up- Jerry Solis

Special Awards
Best of Show- Craig Waltjer
Best Engine- Craig Waltjer
Peoples Choice- Jeff Wrst
MCA Award- Joe Marche
Best Wheels- Walkter Stokley
Cool Factor- Red Cross
Best Paint- Eddie Rondazu
Track Choice- Chris Carroll




Comments are closed.